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2023-2024 FALCONRY LICENSE RENEWAL NOTICE 
 
2023-2024 Falconry License Information 

Your current license will expire June 30, 2023. Please 
allow 15 business days for processing the renewal of 
your license. 

Enclosed are the following: 

✓ 2023-2024 Falconry License Renewal Worksheet. 

✓ Falconry Hunting Take Report (DFW360h). 

✓ Apprentices Only - Apprentice Falconer’s Annual 

Progress Report (DFW360c). 

✓ Credit Card Authorization Form (DFW1443). 

Hunting License and Validation Requirements 

Any person engaging in falconry, including but not limited 
to the possession of raptor(s), is required to possess a 
valid falconry license, a valid California hunting license, and 
any required validations. Failure to do so may result in 
suspension or revocation of their license and/or 
administrative, civil, or criminal penalties.  

Pursuant to California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 14, 
Section 670(a)(2), it shall be unlawful for any person to 
engage in falconry in California unless they have in their 
immediate possession a valid original falconry license, a 
valid original hunting license, and any required validations. 
Falconry means the possession, housing, trapping, 
transport, and use of raptors for the purpose of hunting or 
training (CCR, Title 14, Section 670(b)(7)). 

To purchase a California hunting license, you must have 
proof of meeting hunter education requirements. Visit 
www.wildlife.ca.gov/Licensing/Hunter-Education for more 
information about hunter education requirements.   

Reporting Requirements 

Licensees are required to report, within 10 calendar days, 
all raptor acquisition and disposition information using the 
California Department of Fish and Wildlife’s (Department) 
online reporting system or the Resident Falconer Raptor 
Capture, Recapture and Release Report (DFW 360f). If a 
licensee is unable to use the Department’s online reporting 
system, the licensee may submit relevant forms by mail, 
fax, or email to the Department’s License and Revenue 
Branch, or the licensee may report over the telephone to 
the License and Revenue Branch. The information will be 
entered into the Department’s online reporting system by 
Department staff, and the Department shall charge a 
nonrefundable administrative processing fee of $17.25 for 
each form entered. 

 

Apprentice Reports 

Pursuant to CCR, Title 14, Section 670(e)(6)(A)6, an 
apprentice falconer shall submit an Apprentice Falconer's 
Annual Progress Report (Form FG360c), as specified in 
CCR, Title 14, Section 703. To be eligible for advancement 
from the apprentice class, the final report must 
demonstrate that the apprentice falconer has practiced 
falconry with a raptor at the apprentice class for at least two 
years, including maintaining, training, flying, and hunting 
with the raptor for at least four months in each license year, 
and a summary of the species the apprentice possessed, 
how long each was possessed, how often each was flown, 
and methods of capture and release. Within the report, the 
sponsor shall certify in writing to the Department that the 
apprentice falconer has met the requirements specified in 
CCR, Title 14, Section 670. 

Forms, Laws, and Regulations 

Falconry forms, laws, and regulations are available on the 
Department’s website at 
www.wildlife.ca.gov/Licensing/Falconry. 

Checklist for Renewing Your Falconry License  

Please review the instructions before completing the 
worksheet. Incomplete reports and/or worksheets will be 
returned and may delay the issuance of your license. 

Please remember to: 

✓ Review the preprinted information carefully, line     

through incorrect information, legibly print 

corrections, and provide information required to 

complete the application. 

✓ Complete, sign, and date the 2023-2024 Falconry 

License Renewal Worksheet. 

✓ Complete the Falconry Hunting Take Report 

(DFW360h). 

✓ Apprentices Only - Both the apprentice and 

sponsor must complete, sign, and date the 

Apprentice Falconer’s Annual Progress Report 

(DFW360c). 

✓ Enclose your cashier’s check, money order, or 

personal check for the license and application fees. 

✓ When paying by credit card, sign the enclosed 

Credit Card Authorization Form (DFW1443a) and 

include the expiration date of the credit card, CVC 

number, and your daytime telephone number. 

mailto:SPU@wildlife.ca.gov
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Steps to Renew Your Falconry License Online To log in, 
you will need your last name, date of birth, and appropriate 
ID number. Items purchased online will include a five 
percent (5%) nonrefundable license agent handling fee. 

1. Visit www.ca.wildlifelicense.com/InternetSales/. 

2. Click on the “Customer Login/Register” tab. 

 (For mobile devices, click on the menu icon 
 towards the top left and select “Customer 
 Login/Register.”) 

3. Enter your Date of Birth and Last Name and click 
“Next.” 

4. Under “Select Official Document ID Type,” select 
an appropriate ID registered with the account from 
the drop-down menu (i.e., GO ID, State ID, 
Passport, Green Card, Military ID, or Foreign 
Government ID), enter the requested information, 
and click “Next.” 

Individual Profile Update: If you would like to 
 update your individual customer profile, click the 
 “Edit Customer Profile” button, update the 
 necessary information, and click “Save.” 

 (For mobile devices, click on the menu icon 
 towards the top left, click on “Edit Customer 
 Profile,” update the necessary information, and 
 click “Save.”) 

5. Click on “View My Special Permits.” 

(For mobile devices, click the menu icon towards 
the top left and select “View My Special Permits.”) 

6. Click on “View” next to the Falconry License. 

7. Under the “Bird Listing” field, update your bird 
inventory and submit your bird acquisition and 
disposition report. 

8. Under “Falconry Application Listing,” click on “New 
Application” to create a Falconry License Renewal 
Application. Note: If there is no “New Application” 
button, click “Edit” next to the appropriate 
“Application Year.” 

9. Update all information on the renewal application 
page. 

Class Upgrades: If you have completed the 
necessary time and experience requirements and 
believe you qualify for an upgrade, please change 
your class in the drop-down menu. Please allow 
additional time for the review process for class 
upgrade requests. 

Apprentice Falconers: Upload your Apprentice 

Falconer’s Annual Progress Report (DFW 360c) 

using the instructions below. Please allow an 

additional 15 business days for the review process. 

a) Under “Falconry Application Listing,” click 

“View” for application year 2022. 

b) Under “File Uploads,” click “Add,” then click 

“Browse” and select the file on your 

computer/device that you wish to upload 

and click “Upload.” 

All Falconers: Upload your Falconry Hunting Take 

Report (DFW 360h) prior to your license renewal or 

by July 1. Take reports may be submitted using the 

online harvest reporting system or through file 

upload using the instructions below. 

a) Under “Falconry Application Listing,” click 

“Upload File” for application year 2022. 

b) Click “Browse” and select the file on your 

computer/device that you wish to upload 

and click “Upload.” 

10. Check the box to certify that you agree to all 

conditions in the certification statement and that the 

application is complete and accurate. Click on 

“Submit and Finish” and “Continue.” 

11. Confirm the selections in your cart and click on 
 “Checkout.” 

12. Confirm your shipping information and enter your 
payment information. 

 Note: Only Visa and MasterCard are accepted. 

13. Check the box next to “Please Email Confirmation” 
and enter an email address for purchase 
confirmation. 

14. Check the box certifying you are at least 18 years 
of age and authorized to make the selected 
purchase. The transaction will not proceed if the 
box is not checked. 

15. Click “Complete Transaction.” 

16. The “Transaction Complete” page will appear, 
confirming you have completed the purchase  and 
have applied for your Falconry License Renewal. 
Click on “Download Receipt/Licenses” to print your 
receipt for your records. 

Note: If your falconry class has not changed, your 
Falconry License will be mailed to you within 15 
business days. If you are an apprentice or have 
changed your falconry class, your Falconry License 
will be mailed to you in two to three weeks, upon 
completion of the review process. 

For more information, contact the Department at 
SPU@wildlife.ca.gov or (916) 928-5846. 
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