Dear Licensee:

The enclosed California hunting license has been issued to include the Mobility Impaired Disabled Persons Motor Vehicle Hunting License Privilege and is only valid for the term of your annual California Hunting License. Remember, you must possess and carry your current and valid California hunting license for your Mobility Impaired Disabled Persons Motor Vehicle Hunting License to be valid.

If you have questions about the license, contact the Department of Fish and Wildlife, License and Revenue Branch, PO Box 944209, Sacramento, CA 94244-2090, telephone (916) 928-5805 or email LRB@wildlife.ca.gov.

Many people are not aware of this license, and you may find that you have to explain your authorization to hunt from a motor vehicle. Section 251(b)(2), Title 14, of the California Code of Regulations, specifies conditions under which the license shall be used and shall include, but not be limited to the following:

- 1. The licensee shall be accompanied by an able-bodied assistant who shall immediately retrieve and tag, if necessary, all game taken. The assistant shall not possess a weapon unless he/she is a licensed hunter and possesses the necessary license or tags for the area being hunted. The assistant shall not discharge a weapon from the vehicle. If licensed, the assistant may dispatch wounded game which has moved out of the range of the licensee.
- 2. The vehicle must be stopped, and the engine must be shut off prior to the licensee discharging the weapon. The weapon shall not be loaded in the vehicle at any time that the vehicle is in motion. The licensee shall not discharge a weapon from, upon, or across roadway. For the purpose of this license, **roadway** shall be defined as a city, county, or state roadway, whether paved or not; but does not include private ranch roads, forest service roads, or service roads along railroad or canal right-of-ways. The licensee or assistant shall not pursue any animal or drive or herd animals to any other hunters with a motor vehicle.
- 3. The licensee shall notify the Department of Fish and Wildlife at the REGIONAL OFFICE having the responsibility for the area where the licensee intends to hunt at least 48 hours prior to hunting. The licensee shall specify the locality, vehicle description, and the approximate time frame during which such hunt shall take place. The licensee shall have the license in possession while hunting from a motor vehicle.
- 4. This license does not authorize hunting from a vehicle on a state or federal wildlife hunting area, without the express written permission of the Regional Manager. Additionally, the possession of this license does not imply that the Regional Manager is required to provide permission to hunt from a vehicle on a state or federal wildlife hunting area.
- 5. This license does not grant permission to trespass on private property or permission to use a motor vehicle while in any area where the use of motor vehicles is restricted or prohibited. This license does not grant permission to discharge a firearm in any place or manner that would otherwise be unlawful, or to possess a loaded firearm in violation of any other city, county, or state law.

FAXED NOTIFICATION OF INTENT TO HUNT FROM A MOTOR VEHICLE

Instructions: Type or print clearly in ink. **It is mandatory to complete all items**. You must notify the Department of Fish and Wildlife at least 48 hours prior to hunting from a vehicle. Fax this completed form to the regional office closest to where you will be hunting from a vehicle. A list of regional offices is provided on the back. If you are unable to fax this form, you must telephone the office directly with this information.

TODAY'S DATE HUNTER'S FIR		T NAME	M.I.	LAST NAME			
GO ID NUMBER		DATE(S) TO HUNT			TIME FRAME TO HUNT		
COUNTY		NEAREST CITY/TOWN			SPECIFIC LOCALITY		
YEAR/MAKE OF VEHICL	E		COLOR OF VEHI	CLE		VEHICLE LICENSE PLATE NUMBER	

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND WILDLIFE REGIONAL OFFICES

Northern Region

Serving Del Norte, Humboldt, Lassen, Mendocino, Modoc, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama and Trinity counties.

Phone: (530) 225-2300 Fax: (530) 225-2055

Email: AskRegion1@wildlife.ca.gov

North Central Region

Serving Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Lake, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento*, San Joaquin*, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo* and Yuba counties.

*Note: These counties are split between regions. See the detailed map at www.wildlife.ca.gov/Regions and click on the printable

regional map.

Phone: (916) 358-2900 Fax: (916) 358-2912

Email: R2Info@wildlife.ca.gov

Bay Delta Region

Serving Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, Sacramento*, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, San Francisco, San Joaquin*, Solano, Sonoma, and Yolo* counties.

*Note: These counties are split between regions. See the detailed map at www.wildlife.ca.gov/Regions and click on the printable

regional map.

Phone: (707) 428-2002 Fax: (707) 428-2036

Email: AskBDR@wildlife.ca.gov

Central Region

Serving Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Monterey, San Benito, San Luis Obispo, Stanislaus, Tulare and

Tuolumne counties. Phone: (559) 243-4005 Fax: (559) 243-4022

Email: Reg4Sec@wildlife.ca.gov

South Coast Region

Serving Los Angeles, Orange, San Diego, Santa Barbara and Ventura counties.

Phone: (858) 467-4201 Fax: (858) 467-4299

Email: AskR5@wildlife.ca.gov

Inland Deserts Region

Serving Imperial, Inyo, Mono, Riverside and San Bernardino counties.

Phone: (909) 484-0167 Fax: (909) 941-7364

Email: AskRegion6@wildlife.ca.gov